Championship Races 2018

Jan – Sorbrook 21/01 Cwmbran
Feb – Chepstow Night Race 05/02
March – Newport Half 04/03
May – Devuaden 10k
July – Blaisdon 10k
Sept – Oldbury 10 miler, Bristol Half, Cheltenham Half.
Oct – Cardiff Half
Nov – Severn Bridge 5 miler

(The Bristol and Cheltenham Half marathons were added due to the Cardiff half selling out quickly.  You can only claim the points for 1)

Championship also includes:
Rose Inn Series best age graded time from the 4 races
Summer Park Run best time at any Park Run during the summer holidays
Forest Mile best time from April or September

We have avoided April as lots of members doing Marathons that month also Kymin Dash and June due to there being potentially 3 Relays (Rack Raid/Castles/Cotswolds)

Good mix of distances, surfaces and days of week so there should be something for everyone.

If you complete a marathon then 6 people points are yours 🏅

Only races from last year is Blaisdon to support Forest Of Dean AC and Cardiff which we had the best turn out by far.

The plan is to have Christmas Tree Race as first one for Championship 2019.

Please note Sorbrook is enter on the day no pre entry but have been in touch with our friends at Griffithstown Harriers who will ensure that all our members are accommodated on race day.
We will do a post in the new year to confirm numbers 🏃🏽🏃🏼‍♀️

Race details will be posted in advance including how to enter…. If you have any queries please contact

 Current Standings


Rob Nicholls – 24

Matt Unsworth – 21

Brian Evans – 14

David Mather – 12

Martin Blakebrough – 8

Mark Ward – 8

Rich Foster – 6

Gareth Jones – 6

Stephen Barrett – 6

Richard Rawlings – 6

Paul McAfee – 6

Luke Felton – 6

David Rutter – 6

Ben Burnett – 6

Jeremy Creasey – 6

Jeremy Masters – 6

Allan Meek – 6

Mark Dunn – 4

Rob Nelson – 4

Rod Wyatt – 4


Leanne Meek – 24

Lucy MacDonald – 20

Sophie Williams – 19

Emily Rosa Harrison – 19

Emma King – 11

Vicky Roberts – 8

Karen Ruck Barratt – 6

Madeleine Newcombe – 6

Alison Phillips – 6

Sally Gilson – 6

Jane Powell – 6

Hannah Hill – 6

Rebecca Foster – 6

Alex Wilson – 6

Linsey Holt – 4

Emma Davies – 2

Championship Races 2017

– January 29th – Lliswerry 8
– February 26th – Pontypool 10k (enter soon as it will sell out)
– March 19th – Forest Half Marathon (or Sept 24th – best time counts)
– April 17th – Gilwern Grunt
– May 1st – Devauden 10k
– Rose Inn – May 9th, June 13th, July 11th or Aug 8th – best time counts
– June 11th – Magic Roundabout
– July (date TBC) – Błaisdon 10k
– Summer Holiday ParkRun – Jul 22nd to Sep 2nd (age-related score)
– September 24th – Forest Half (or Mar 19th – best time counts)
– October 1st – Cardiff Half Marathon
– November 18th – Elan 10

For these races, the winners earn 6 points going down to 1 which all racers get as a minimum.

If you complete a marathon then you will be awarded 6 points but only once during the year.

The Parkrun score is the age-graded score you are given by Parkrun. Please let Martin Blakebrough know your best score during the above period. Up to 10 points are available.

If you have a score to submit or you have any questions, please contact Martin Blakebrough.

Current Standings

As of mid-August, the current* championship leaders are:


Jeremy Creasey 23
Martin Blakebrough 20
Brian Evans 13
Allan Meek 12
Tony Hardy 12
George Smith 11
Robert Nelson 11


Emma King 38
Leanne Meek 12
Sally Gilson 10
Lucy MacDonald 8
Sarah Clifton 8

*Points will change as Spring Forest Half times could count towards the score, these will be awarded once the Autumn Forest Half has been run. Similarly, the Parkrun scores will be calculated when all scores are in after September 2nd.

Any questions, please contact Martin Blakebrough.